Reviews

Another great stay, return visit says it all

The property, the owner, and the management are all top notch. I have stayed at the penthouse twice over the last couple years, once with my large family including a bunch of kids, and the more recent time 6 adults.

It was fantastic both times. Beautiful, secure, and peaceful, but easy walk to all the action of Las Terrenas. A fantastic experience all around! Thanks again to the owner and the property managers!

  • Stayed in Feb 2021

We loved it !

Fantastic stay at this great property. Huge penthouse, intimacy, very big swimming pool, cosy jacuzzi and fantastic views on the tropical gardens and the ocean. Just in front of the playa las ballenas beach, whic is by far our favorite !

The team : guest, property managers and housekeeper have done everything for us to have this great stay.

Congrats

  • Stayed in Oct 2020

Little paradise @ bonita village

Great place, excellent service, they attended us like kings. The penthouse is in good conditions. And the property manager is amazing bring us a premium service.

  • Stayed in Jul 2020

Laid back luxury

Beautiful property in a beautiful location. This was our second time at the Penthouse and we hope to be back again. Las Terranes is a small laid back community that is unique and the Penthouse is the perfect place from which to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed in Feb 2020

Paradise

The property was just what we wanted. The area is developing so there are areas that are very littered but overall the DR is gorgeous and the locals are friendly and welcoming! Fortunately, a couple of us understand (and can stumbled through) Spanish. The housekeeper is AMAZING! Not only are her meals excellent, she is so sweet that she truly becomes like family! I wouldn’t hesitate to rent again!

  • Stayed in Dec 2019

week stay

Our family of five had a great stay at this property. Loved the open layout and views.

The daily housekeeping and meals were fantastic. We rented quads which I highly suggest for getting around and being able to see the town.

  • Stayed in Dec 2019

Beautifully located penthouse

Our trip to Las Terranes was simply wonderful. The view from the penthouse was amazing. We travelled in November which is we knew was their rainy season. We had many hours of sun as well. Security was 24 hours a day which made us fell safe. Penthouse was spacious and very clean. Beds very comfortable. Kitchen very well equipped. Grocery stores close by. Good restaurants along the beach and reasonably priced. Have already booked for this upcoming February 2020 .Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed in Nov 2019

A business trip

This was my second stay at the penthouse and just like the first it was great. The penthouse was immaculate. Beautifully decorated with its breathtaking view of Gorgeous beach Las Ballenas.

  • Stayed in Oct 2019

Amazing place

Beautiful property in immaculate gated Bonita Village. Great views all around with pool and beach right out front. Took my family and they’re already planning to return. Really enjoyed the rustic decor which gives it a great balance of luxury and authenticity.

Some slight confusion with staff but was quickly resolved after reaching out to owner. One of the property managers even came to resolve a very small issue on the night of her sons birthday. They went above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed in Oct 2019

Fantastic place!

Really a fantastic place. We love everything : huge spaces, very comfortable accomodations, private jacuzzi, breathtaking views on the tropical gardens, the swimming pool and the beach which are just a steps away. Perfect service from the Housekeeper and very helping and responsive owner and Property managers.

  • Stayed in Aug 19

Superbe penthouse au paradis !!

Cela fait deux fois que nous louons le penthouse et il est toujours aussi superbe. la vue sur la piscine , la mer et la végétations est époustouflante, la décoration est magnifique et la plage est superbe (abritée, au calme). Nous avions loué des scooters et cela a parfait notre séjour, nous donnant toute la liberté de nous déplacer et de bénéficier d’un emplacement idéal. C’est une réelle expérience . Le ménage est quotidien, la cuisine est très bien équipée et permet de manger sur place… rien à redire tout est parfait !! Excellent relais local en cas de besoin aussi en la personne de Céline ! Nous ne rêvons que d’une chose c’est de repartir …

  • Stayed in Jul 2019

absolutely beautiful!

We loved our stay at the penthouse. It is very spacious with beautiful wood and stone finishes. The location is perfect, steps from an amazing beach and the pool. We had the cook and maid cook dinner for us and she was a fabulous cook. The owner is very easy to work with and all of our questions were answered beforehand by the management company. They also booked our taxi for us from the airport. There are motorcycle taxis which can take you into town very easily, so we found that we did not need a car at all. Our kids loved riding on them ( the drivers are very safe). It was one of our best holidays ever!

  • Stayed in Mar19

Spectacular

My family and I recently stayed at this beautiful penthouse over the March break, 2019. We have 3 children ranging in age from 6-12 years old. Each and every one of us had a most enjoyable time. The penthouse was clean, spacious (really an understatement considering the size), breezy and super comfortable. We all had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy our personal space (when desired). The grounds were lovely, pool was clean and almost always empty or with a couple of people present. We felt safe in the location. The beach was pristine, clean with soft, white sand and the ocean was clear and warm. The sailing club next door had excellent food, offered lounge chairs on the beach and provided kayaks, SUP and boats for a considerably reduced price. Celine from the property management group not only booked our taxi to and from the airport, but four wheelers for us, took care of booking all of our excursions (zip lining and the national park, Las Haitises – both of which were fantastic and well loved by all of our children), and ensured that our fridge was stocked with groceries prior to arrival! She made us feel welcome right from the beginning. The housekeeper, the house keeper, was warm and friendly. She kept the penthouse clean and cooked five of the dinners for us over the week. The meals she produced were tasty and even our kids really enjoyed and ate all of them! We would love to return to this magical location in the future.

  • Stayed in Mar 2019

Absolutely perfect- we can’t wait to go back!

This is a stunning property in a fantastic location. We loved the combination of luxury accommodations and open air. The view is incredible and you truly feel connected to the outdoors. I would recommend this condo to anyone. The home cooked meals were very special and delicious. I can’t say enough good things about this lovely place!

  • Stayed in Mar 2019

Fabulous condo exactly as pictured on walk-able beach close to bars & restaurants

We stayed in the penthouse February 15-20, 2019. I was a bit leery of going to an area of the world I’ve never traveled to and not staying at an all-inclusive resort. My fears were completely unfounded! Las Terrenas has the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever seen, and I’ve seen many! We loved walking the beach for miles and discovering new bars and restaurants. The penthouse is exactly as pictured: beautiful, open, comfortable and airy with incredible views of the pool and ocean beyond. I especially loved that although the bedrooms have air conditioning (which we used at night), the rest of the house is completely open air (no screens on any windows!), allowing the balmy ocean breezes to flow through. I had seen some reviews saying bug spray was necessary and saw that all the beds had mosquito netting. Although I brought bug spray, we never needed it, nor did we use the mosquito netting. (It hadn’t rained in awhile when we were there so this may have been the reason.) We had 3 couples in our party and the penthouse design makes all the bedrooms completely private. I also felt the condo was big enough and had adequate gathering spaces if you wanted to be away from the group. We had the housekeeper cook breakfast for us each day and one dinner and it was incredible to not have to cook or clean during our whole stay. She did a great job – came in every day and cooked for us and also cleaned our bedrooms and bathrooms each day as if we were at a hotel. We told her what food and beverages we wanted (in Spanish), and she even went grocery shopping for us. One tiny improvement would be the addition of a full-length mirror. Not a big deal but I did have a new outfit to wear and it would have been nice to see which shoes looked best – good thing my girlfriends had my back! Also, although we used and enjoyed the hot tub, the highest temp it heats to is 91 degrees. For a girl from Wisconsin, this is an ooch on the cool side. Overall, very minor complaints! In overview, a wonderful place. I give my sister credit for finding it online. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed in Feb 2019

Better than they say!

We stayed at The Playa Las Ballenas Penthouse for nine nights in early April and it was simply wonderful – from the moment we arrived!

Our family included our three children (12, 8 & 6) and my husband’s mother (86-years old) and the condo was fantastic! There was plenty of space for all six of us, comfortable places to hangout (for adults and kids), nice comfy beds, beautiful views, great location, great pool, great access to the beach and some nearby beach restaurants (fun with yummy food and drinks) and amenities that made our stay perfect (laundry and hot tub are a plus)!

We are not the all inclusive type and really enjoy having a low key breakfast as the kids wake up at different times, while we are able to enjoy coffee, a book and a great view – the deck near the kitchen was our “go to” space (also worked for enjoying rum punch after the kids went to bed)! Most mornings were then spent at the pool, which was an easy walk, warm and easy to enter/exit (zero entry on one end) and never busy! Our afternoons consisted of sailing and hanging out on Playa Bellenas or other nearby beaches (Playa Bonita – surfing, Punta Popi – near town, etc). We also did some really fun excursions through both Arena Tours and Flora Tours (both located in town) and they picked us up right outside the condo.

If we wanted to stay near the condo for dinner, we needed to eat early at Sol y Mar (they were usually closing up by 5pm) or a beach shack just a little further down the beach (our favorite) owned by a French guy and he would stay open until after 6pm for us (great shrimp, fish, chicken and pasta – which he would make plain for picky 6-year old)! OR, we simply drove to town and ate at one of the many great places! There were plenty of other places that would have been about a 20-minute walk from the condo, but would have been a little too far for grandma. In-between the Sol y Mar and the French shack is another shack which had awesome mojitos (which we would get to go and enjoy while building sandcastles).

We rarely find a place (both location and lodging) that we would want to revisit in the near future; however, we believe we will be back to this condo within the next five years!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016

AMAZING stay!

Loved loved loved this apartment and the area! A little hard to find but no big deal. Felt safe, had so much fun and ate delicious meals prepared by Alita.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018

Beautiful! The penthouse is the highest quality and the location fantastic.

The penthouse is beautiful, bedrooms, living space, kitchen – all beautifully made and of the highest quality. The location is gorgeous and the beach fantastic. The property manager, Genesis, is very helpful and professional. The housekeeper, who cleans and also can cook for you if you want, is wonderful and we enjoyed her cooking a lot. The only problem you have to be prepared for are mosquitos, bring an insect repellent. We had a wonderful time staying there and are definitely thinking about going again.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017

Amazing!

My family and I stayed at the penthouse just a couple of weeks ago, and we had the most amazing vacation. The penthouse is gorgeous, spacious, and had the most spectacular views of the most beautiful beach I had ever seen. The penthouse itself had three big bedrooms, an open concept, that was very nicely decorated, and was well-equipped with everything we could have possibly needed. The design of the penthouse was to emphasize the beauty of the surroundings of the penthouse; the beach, vegetation, the beautiful river that flowed in front of the apartment. The team in charge of the renting of the penthouse was incredible, and were very efficient and helpful. Also, they gave us a lot of tips and valuable information, and always answered all of our questions. They always responded quickly whenever we needed something. Elliot, the owner, was also very prompt and very nice whenever answering any questions I had, Every morning when I woke up, and opened my bedroom door, the first thing I saw was this beautiful paradise that joyously filled me up with happiness.

The location was close to restaurants, stores, bars, lounges; anything we could have possibly needed. When we stayed at the penthouse, we visited five other beaches that were more beautiful than the last, which were no more than 20 minutes away from the penthouse. One of the things that we all loved, especially the kids, was being able to use the four-wheelers as a form of transportation ,since Las Terrenas allows those vehicles to be used as a form of transportation. The kids loved going beach hopping on the four-wheelers.

This was one of the most greatest and memorable family vacation, we’ve ever had. And we are already planning our next vacation to Las Terrenas, and if available, we would love to stay at the penthouse again. it is the most beautiful property in Playa Las ballenas.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017

Great getaway location and a beautiful penthouse.

The penthouse is amazing. It is large and roomy. There are three large bedrooms each with their own bath. The location is perfect for a week long getaway. We only had two couples, but we could have had another with us and we each would have had our own space. The housekeeper, and her daughter were amazing. The housekeeper cooked a fantastic meal for us. Her daughter was her sous chef. Celine was very helpful when we needed something. I asked if there were playing cards or dominos.

She responded by bringing them to the penthouse. I cannot say enough about the penthouse. The kitchen is modern and spacious. There are patios on both ends and one of them has a hot tub. We thought that would be a big plus, but we didn’t end up using it as we spent most of our time in the pool, at the beach, walking to and around Las Terrenas or on the patio outside of the kitchen. The pool is large and we usually shared it with only a few people. The beach restaurant everyone raves about was not open the entire week we were there (Sol y Mar), so we did not get to try them out. We also did not know how to use paddle boards or the other things that are offered with the rental, as we got our wires crossed with Celine somehow on the first night, but we did fine without them. We had a carefree, relaxing seven days in the sun. We will definitely be back to this amazing place. Next time I will know more French, as there is a strong French influence on this part of the island

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017

Gorgeous views, tranquil atmosphere with a wonderful caretaker

My husband and I visited for a week in April with our 4 children and my parents. We had the most lovely stay. It rained several days we were there, yet that didn’t change the beauty or ruin our experience! Rather, we had a beautiful top level view of storms and sea and enjoyed opening up all the sliding wooden doors and windows to feel like we were outside at all times. We brought cards and games so even when it was raining it was a relaxing, cozy vacation.

Celine was a FANSTASTIC host. Our fabulous experience was largely attributable to her. Staying in this house was like having our own private home but with all the benefits of having a concierge to help coordinate travel, chefs, etc. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend requesting A few meals to be cooked for you while there – that was a highlight.

The house was cleaned for us daily (included) at the time most convenient for us. It’s a little off the beaten path but we chose not to rent a car and it was easier that way. Celine coordinated our travel to/from the airport in Samto Domingo ($180 each way). Otherwise we walked the distance to town a few times & took motorbike taxis other times. You can easily rent ATVs or small cars for ~$40-60/day to explore while there.

We had the pool nearly to ourselves the whole week so the kids were back and forth from fresh water to salt water to the brackish water in the little river that outlasts into the ocean right in front of the complex.

My only disappointment was that the hot tub was not in order during our stay. We might’ve used that occasionally in the evenings otherwise.

Overall a great find and a big thanks too Celine for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: 11-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017

Wonderful stay

Exactly as the pictures, went with two other couples, condo is beautiful. Unit is clean and well appointed. Lots of space to relax as a group or individually- did not feel crowded at all. Bathrooms were clean and spacious, water pressure was perfect. Occasional blips with electricity brown outs but the essentials were always working with a generator. Beach within a few feet- walked to town almost everyday. Would definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for luxury with a local flair.

  • Stayed in Jan 2018

Wow what a space!

This really is a stunning penthouse with a fantastic colonial vibe, great facilities and stunning views. Very communicative host and local staff who reacted efficiently to any requests. The main space has beautiful hardwood floors which are a pleasure to walk around on and the well equipped kitchen is a joy to use. Two big terraces, one for cooking just outside the kitchen and one at the other end near the two main bedrooms which is very private and home to the hot tub which got plenty of use. Steps from a huge pool and a beautiful beach. Town is a five minute drive away so you really need transport unless you like a long walk but the apartment is so stunning we hardly left during our stay! Highly recommended and looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed in Nov 2017